Government of Maharashtra
blueheader-left Food, Civil Supplies and Consumer Protection Department blueheader-right
Time "Public Distribution Tollfree Helpline No.1800-22-4950 and 1967 (for BSNL and MTNL customers only) and One Nation-One Ration Card Helpline No. 14445 ."
State & Distt. Level Consumer Protection Organization
State Commission
      As provided in the Act the State Commission has been constituted with effect from 31.10.1989. The Commission consists of one President and five Members from which one is judicial member and one is lady member. A sitting or retired High Court Judge is appointed as the President, Judicial Member is appointed from sitting or retired District Court Judge and other member is appointed from persons of ability, integrity and standing and have adequate knowledge or experience of, or have shown capacity dealing with problems relating to economics, law, commerce, accountancy, industry, public affairs or administration. One of the members shall be a woman member.
Address of State Commission Office
Old Administrative Staff College Bldg.
Hazarimal Somani Marg,
Opp.C.S.T. Rly Station,
Mumbai - 400 001.
Circuit Bench
Considering the pendency of the State Commission Circuit Benches of State Commission at Nagpur & Aurangabad have been started and made functional.

a) Nagpur Circuit Bench-
                               Administrative Building,
                               5th Floor,
                               civil lines,
b)Aurangabad Circuit Bench-
                               Commercial Complex Of Aurangabad Municipal Corporation,
                               Near Jay Tower,
District Fora
      District Fora consists of one president and Two members. A District Judge or retired District Judge or a person qualified to be appointed as a District Judge is appointed as president. The eligibility of the members is similar to that members of the State Commission. District Fora have been established for each district and they are situated at the District Head Quarters. Taking into consideration of heavy filing of the complaints the Additional Fora have been established at Mumbai, Pune, Nagpur, Thane and Mumbai Suburban Districts as on today.
    Today total 40 Districts Fora have been established and all are functional. And also 3 additional Districts Fora have been created on adhoc basis.
Jurisdiction of the State Commission & District Forum
  • State Commission deals with the disputes involving Rs.20 lakhs to Rs.1 crore and disposes, appeals against the order of district fora.
  • District Forum Deals with the disputes involving up to Rs.20 Lakhs.
State Consumer Protection Council
      The State Consumer Protection Council has been established under the Maharashtra Consumer Protection (Amendment) Rules, 2004. Its Chairman will be the Minister-In-Charge of the department while the Vice Chairmanship will be the Minister of State in connection with Consumer Protection. Various representatives of institutes, individuals, workers acting in the field consumer movement and Government servants are appointed. There are 38 members in the Council and its period is for 3 years
District Consumer Protection Councils
At the District Level, a District Consumer Protection Council has been established under Maharashtra Consumer Protection (Amendment) Rule 2004. The council consist of 40 official and non-official members. The period of the District consumer protection council is 3 years.
Consumer Welfare Advisory Committee
The Government has established a single member Maharashtra Consumer Welfare Advisory Committee with a view to make recommendation to State Government regarding the measures to be adopted to spread consumer movement in the rural and remote areas of the State. Shri Arun Vasantrao Deshpande, has been appointed as a Chairman on this Committee.
Disclaimer | Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Hyperlinking Policy
Developed by National Informatics Centre,Mumbai.